Basics, Buddhism

What is the Eightfold Path?

The Eightfold Path is a fundamental teaching in Buddhism that outlines the path towards the cessation of suffering and the attainment of enlightenment.

It is considered the fourth Noble Truth, which is the path that leads to the end of suffering. Enunciated by the Buddha, the Eightfold Path consists of eight interconnected and interdependent steps that guide individuals toward ethical conduct, mental discipline, and wisdom.

The Eightfold Path is believed to lead to the development of wholesome qualities such as compassion, wisdom, and inner peace, ultimately leading to liberation from suffering.

Discover Buddhism’s Eightfold Path

The Eightfold Path is based on the principles of wisdom, ethical conduct, and mental discipline, and it offers a practical framework for individuals seeking to cultivate inner peace, wisdom, and compassion.

Let’s explore the Eightfold Path of Buddhism and its significance in helping individuals achieve spiritual awakening and liberation from suffering.

1. The Right View

By right view, Buddha means seeing things in the right perspective. Seeing things as they really are, without any false illusions or pretenses. He wanted his followers to see and to understand the transient nature of worldly ideas and possessions and to understand that they can attain salvation only if they practiced the right karma.

Here are some examples of the Right View:

  • The understanding that all things are impermanent.
  • The belief in the law of Karma.
  • The belief in rebirth or reincarnation.
  • The recognition of the Four Noble Truths.
  • The understanding that all beings are interconnected.

2. The Right Intention

Buddha says that we are what we are because of what we think. What goes on inside our minds (our thought process) determines our course of action. It is, therefore, necessary to follow the path of Right thought or Right Intention. To have the Right Intention or the Right Thought, a person should be aware of his purpose or role in life and is studying the teachings of Buddha.

Here are some examples of the Right Intention:

  • The intention to cultivate kindness and compassion toward others.
  • The intention to develop a deeper understanding of oneself and the world.
  • The intention to refrain from causing harm to others.
  • The intention to let go of negative emotions such as anger and resentment.
  • The intention to act with selflessness rather than selfishness.

3. The Right Speech

Buddha asks his followers to speak truth, to avoid slander and malicious gossip and to refrain from abusive language. Harsh words that can cause distress or offend others should also be avoided while also staying clear of mindless idle chatter which lacks any depth.

Here are some examples of the Right Speech:

  • Using words of encouragement and support.
  • Apologizing when necessary.
  • Offering constructive feedback rather than criticism.
  • Speaking truthfully and honestly.
  • Refraining from gossip or slander.

4. The Right Action

For the Buddha, the Right Action refers to the ethical behavior that one should follow in their daily life. It involves refraining from causing harm or suffering to any living being, either through physical or mental actions.

Here are some examples of the Right Action:

  • Helping those in need.
  • Respecting others’ boundaries and personal space.
  • Volunteering or donating to charity.
  • Practicing acts of kindness and generosity.
  • Refraining from harming or killing any living being.

5. The right Livelihood

By laying down this guideline, Buddha advises his followers to earn their bread and butter righteously, without resorting to illegal and nefarious activities. He does not expect his followers to exploit other human beings or animals or to trade in weapons or intoxicants.

Here are some examples of the Right Livelihood:

  • Pursuing a career that aligns with one’s values and beliefs.
  • Engaging in work that benefits others.
  • Avoiding work that involves harming others or the environment.
  • Being honest and ethical in all business dealings.
  • Pursuing work that brings a sense of purpose and fulfillment.

6. The right Effort

Buddha believed that human nature imposes undue restrictions on the mind at times, causing a person to harbor ill thoughts. So we have to train our mind to think in the right direction if we wish to become better human beings. Once we gain control over our thoughts and replace the unpleasant ones with positive ones, we shall be moving in the right direction.

Here are some examples of the Right Effort:

  • Practicing meditation and mindfulness.
  • Exercising self-discipline and self-control.
  • Overcoming negative thoughts and emotions.
  • Cultivating positive thoughts and emotions.
  • Striving to be the best version of oneself.

7. The right Mindfulness

The Right Mindfulness, together with the Right Concentration, forms the basis of Buddhist meditation. By proposing this, Buddha suggests his followers to focus mentally on their emotions, mental faculties, and capabilities while staying away from worldly desires and other distractions.

It refers to the ability of the mind to see things as they are without being led astray by greed, avarice, anger and ignorance.

Here are some examples of the Right Mindfulness:

  • Being present in the moment.
  • Observing one’s thoughts and emotions without judgment.
  • Cultivating awareness of one’s surroundings.
  • Paying attention to one’s breathing.
  • Practicing non-attachment to thoughts and emotions.

8. The right Concentration

This eighth principle laid down by Buddha is fundamental for proper meditation. Zazen (or, Zen meditation) is the way used in Zen to reach the right concentration or “state of mind”. Needless to add, this is the most vital of all the aspects stated in the Noble Eightfold path since, without proper meditation, an individual cannot move on to a higher level of well-being.

Here are some examples of the Right Concentration:

  • Engaging in deep and meaningful meditation.
  • Focusing one’s attention on a specific object or activity.
  • Cultivating a strong sense of mental discipline.
  • Overcoming distractions and obstacles.
  • Developing the ability to concentrate for extended periods of time.


The Eightfold Path is a central concept in Buddhism that serves as a guide for individuals seeking to achieve enlightenment and liberation from suffering. This path is based on the principles of wisdom, ethical conduct, and mental discipline, and it is believed to lead to the cessation of suffering and the attainment of ultimate truth.

By following the Eightfold Path, individuals can cultivate the right understanding, intention, speech, action, livelihood, effort, mindfulness, and concentration needed to achieve spiritual awakening and live a meaningful life.

The Eightfold Path offers a valuable framework for individuals seeking to cultivate inner peace, wisdom, and compassion, and it continues to inspire and guide Buddhist practitioners worldwide.